The Haining

Client Location Category

Lee Boyd Architects for The Haining Trust Selkirk, Scottish Borders Fabric Repairs & Restoration


The Haining, an A listed country house and estate, was left by the last owner, Mr Andrew Nimmo Smith ‘for benefit of the people of Selkirkshire and the wider public’.

The building has a rich and detailed history of adaptation over many centuries. From a medieval farmhouse, to the form we see today, a Classicised Villa inspired by a European tour, and set in a romantic designed landscape in the beautiful borders.

The current house at the Haining, built in 1792 by Mark Pringle, evolved over time. By 1820, it was remodelled in a Grecian Classical style, overlayed with ashlar stone. Unfortunately, a fire in the 1940s badly damaged the original house, which was completely removed two decades later.

During World War II, the army requisitioned the property, leading to significant alterations to the interiors. Following the fire, concrete floors and steel beams were installed, likely due to wartime requirements. As a result, much of the original period detailing was lost and not replaced, with over 80% of the construction being rebuilt.

Extensive detailed investigations were carried out as part of the discussion with Historic Environment Scotland resulting in a successful grant funding and planning approvals. The approved proposals include the innovative use of hot lime mortar applied in place of ashlar stone panels and plaster run moulded profiles around windows, this unique method provides a sustainable future for the building in the long run in order to preserve the building for Selkirk.

Coming soon…

Previous
Previous

St Mark's Church

Next
Next

Leith Flat Refurbishment